DVPs #5: Phil Morrical, III, Laurie Johnson

District #5 Vice Presidents
Phil Morrical, III
Morrical Realty LLC
301 S. Front St.
Hamilton, OH 45011
513.863.6669 Fax 513.893.3015
Laurie Johnson
Coldwell Banker Heritage
19 S. Weston Rd.
Troy, OH 45373
937.335.4184 Fax: 937.667.6244

Ohio’s REALTORS have hit the ground running in 2017, looking to boost professionalism and respect within the ranks of its more than 30,000 members.

“Team 17” is ready to LEAD…LEARN…& GROW its shared quest to best serve REALTORS and help make the American Dream of property ownership an attainable reality for our fellow citizens.

More than 500 REALTORS from all corners of Ohio convened in Columbus for three days in mid-January to celebrate the inauguration of President Pete Kopf, thank immediate Past President Sara Calo for her lasting contributions, tend to the business functions of the organization and get the year off to a remarkable start.

There are a number of Winter Conference highlights that I would like to share with you, including:

  • The installation of 2017 President Pete Kopf, of Cincinnati, and his leadership team of President-elect Tiffany Meyer, of Ashland, and Treasurer Anjanette Frye, of Dayton, was a key highlight of the gathering. Additionally, the District Vice Presidents from across the state and members of the OAR Executive Committee took the oath of office.
  • The OAR Leadership Team debuted the initial installment of the “We Are Ohio REALTORS” video series. The year-long series is designed to give voice to the many attributes and high professional standards that set Ohio’s REALTOR community apart. Throughout 2017 the “We Are Ohio REALTORS” series will explore and celebrate the industry’s importance in making the American Dream a reality.
  • The organization celebrated the graduation of the first-ever class of its Leadership Academy. The 12-member class completed an intense program focused on goal-setting, communication, business relationships and personal growth. Congratulations to graduates: Michelle Billings (Cincinnati Area Board), Heather Dunn (Columbus REALTORS), Sandra Green (Scioto Valley Association), Cindy Jacobs (Guernsey-Muskingum Valley Association), Ralph Mantica (Dayton Area Board), Joe Marino III (Stark County Association), Dan McQuillen (Toledo Regional Association), Debbie Milnar (Toledo Regional Association), Joe Mock (Cincinnati Area Board), Phil Morrical III (Cincinnati Area Board), Chris Pedon (Columbus REALTORS), and Fred Troyer (Wayne Holmes Association).
  • Ohio’s REALTOR community supported the REALTORS Political Action Committee in a BIG way in 2016–raising nearly $854,900. Our success is directly attributable to our Local Boards/Associations which raised funds for this vitally important cause. The following Boards were honored at the Board of Directors meeting for their overall excellence in their respective categories – Akron Cleveland, Toledo Regional, Medina County, Midwestern Ohio and Ashland. Additionally, the Cincinnati Area Board, Columbus REALTORS and Dayton Area Board were honored for their outstanding efforts during last year’s campaign. The organization also set its goal of $860,000 for the 2017 RPAC campaign.
  • Attendees at the popular Lunchbox Economics session gained insights on the improving market trends and a forecast of the 2017 real estate market from Lawrence Yun, chief economist for the National Association of REALTORS.
  • Attendees of the highly-attended Legal Issues Forum were able to gain insights from a panel discussion on the “New Expedited Foreclosure Process.” Panelists included Rep. Jonathan Dever (R-District 28), Tony Fiore of Kegler Brown Hill + Ritter, and Brian T. Deas, a partner at Manley Deas Kochalski. Forum attendees also received continuing education credit.
  • A number of notable dignitaries were on hand during the Conference, including Ohio Superintendent of Real Estate Anne Petit; NAR RPAC Fundraising Liaison Kenny Parcell, of Utah; NAR Region #6 Vice President Bill Milliken, of Michigan; Michigan REALTORS President Jason Copeman; Tennessee REALTORS President Brian Copeland; 2014 NAR President and OAR Past President Steve Brown; and Gavin Blair, chief executive officer of the Iowa Association of REALTORS.
  • The Business Technology Forum/Young Professionals Network heard Sean Carpenter offer “Appy Hour,” a fast-paced look at apps that can boost REALTOR productivity. Attendees were able to receive continuing education credit.
  • The Nominating Committee presented its slate of candidates for the 2018 OAR Treasurer position: Chris Reese (Columbus REALTORS) and Seth Task (Akron Cleveland Association). 2018/2019 OAR District Vice President positions: District 1 – Dave Cook (Columbus REALTORS), District 2 – Sara Riesen (Firelands Association), District 3 – Lenny Lawrence (Stark County), District 4 – Rick DeLuca (East Central Association), and District 5 – Ralph Mantica (Dayton Area). Directors will vote on these positions at the OAR Spring Legislative Conference, April. 24-26, in Columbus.
  • Directors approved resolutions honoring the lives of Past Presidents Paul Everson and Richard Fagan for their many years of distinguished service prior to their passing in 2016.
  • Attendees were able to earn continuing education credit with “Getting to Yes – Negotiating on Behalf of Your Client,” presented by Melanie McLane.
  • Directors agreed to add OAR’s name to a list of more than 300 supporters of an effort to secure an additional $15 million in each year of the FY 18-19 state budget for the Ohio Housing Trust Fund.

While the bulk of our attention and effort was devoted to matters involving Association operations, public policy initiatives, professional development and a host of related issues, there was ample opportunity to mix a little pleasure and networking into the proceedings as well.

As you can tell, the Association has hit the ground running and is poised to accomplish great things in 2017. OAR will continue to work hard to not only ensure that REALTORS are prepared to meet the challenges of today, but succeed tomorrow.

Mark your calendars to be a part of the Association’s next major event, the Spring Legislative Conference, April 24-26, in Columbus. This will feature key political figures from the Buckeye State and a reception with lawmakers at the Ohio State House.

Thank you for your past and continued support!