DVPs #1…Chris Pedon, Tiffany Meyer

District #1 Vice Presidents
Chris Pedon
373 S. Drexel Ave.
Bexley, OH 43209
614/477-6726 FAX 614/635-3461
Tiffany S. Meyer
J C Meyer Co. Inc.
1171 E. Main St.
Ashland, OH 44805
419.651.7535 FAX 419.281.9846

The Ohio Association of REALTORS has embarked on a new year of service to Ohio’s real estate professionals, reaffirming a commitment to providing members with the necessary tools and resources to achieve a shared goal of making the American Dream of property ownership an attainable reality for our fellow citizens.

Nearly 500 REALTORS from all corners of Ohio convened in Columbus for three days in mid-January to celebrate the inauguration of President Greg Hrabcak, thank immediate Past President Chris Hall for his lasting contributions, tend to the business functions of the organization and get the year off to a fantastic start.

There are a number of Winter Conference highlights that I would like to share with you, including:

  • Directors honored Steven C. Brown for his lifetime of service to all levels of the REALTOR organization. A second generation REALTOR, the Dayton native has spent nearly four decades helping buyers and sellers achieve the American Dream of home ownership, while also volunteering his time and talent to improving the real estate profession. Brown, who has been a tireless advocate for REALTORS across Ohio and our nation, served as president of the Dayton Area Board of REALTORS (1995), OAR (2002) and just concluded a stint as leader of the 1 million-member National Association of REALTORS (2014). Brown is only the ninth Ohioan to serve as NAR President, joining Harley E. Rouda, Sr. (Columbus, 1991), J.D. Sawyer (Middletown, 1973), John W. Galbreath (Columbus, 1944), Edgar L. Ostendorf (Cleveland, 1939), Walter S. Schmidt (Cincinnati, 1935), Harry S. Kissell (Springfield, 1931), Irving Hiett (Toledo, 1921) and Alexander S. Taylor (Cleveland, 1910).“Steve’s vision, his passion and his dedicated leadership helped advance our profession to remarkable heights,” said OAR President Greg Hrabcak. OAR Directors unanimously approved a resolution honoring Brown.
  • The installation of 2015 President Greg Hrabcak, of Columbus, and his leadership team of President-elect Sara Calo, of Mayfield Village, and Treasurer Pete Kopf, of Cincinnati, was a key highlight of the gathering. Additionally, the District Vice Presidents from across the state and members of the OAR Executive Committee took the oath of office.
  • Ohio’s REALTOR community supported the REALTORS Political Action Committee in a BIG way in 2014 — raising more than $729,000. Our success is directly attributable to our Local Boards/Associations who raised funds for this vitally important cause. The following Boards were honored at the Board of Directors meeting for their overall excellence in their respective categories — Akron Cleveland, Toledo, Medina County, Warren Area and Ashland. Additionally, the Cincinnati Area Board and Columbus REALTORS were honored for their outstanding efforts during last year’s campaign. The organization established a goal of $625,000 for the 2015 RPAC campaign, with a participation goal of 50 percent and 162 major investors.
  • Attendees at the popular Lunchbox Economics session gained insights on the improving market trends and a forecast of the 2015 real estate market from Lawrence Yun, chief economist of the National Association of REALTORS.
  • The highly-attended Legal Issues Forum featured Peg Ritenour and Lorie Garland, from the OAR Legal Hotline, discussing “Marketing Issues: Keeping it Legal.” Forum attendees also received continuing education credit.
  • On the public policy front, the Association took positions on two pending matters. First, OAR will be working with the Ohio State Bar Association to pass legislation to update Ohio’s current “Right to Cure” statute. The current 21 year time-frame is longer than a majority of states who have shortened their wait period. This proposal is designed to allow for more speedy transfers of real property and reduce the need for timely and costly litigation. Secondly, OAR will oppose an effort to prohibit applicants for a sales license from taking their pre-licensure courses online.
  • The Business Technology Forum/Young Professionals Network heard Suzanne Roy, from Move Inc. and REALTOR.com, share insights on changes to Internet agent reviews. Additionally, a panel of YPN’s shared ideas on local events and programs.
  • The Nominating Committee presented its slate of candidates for the 2016 OAR Treasurer position: Tiffany Meyer (Ashland) and Chris Reese (Columbus). Directors will vote on the position at the OAR Annual Conference & Expo, Sept. 20-22, in Columbus.
  • Representatives from the Strategic Planning Committee will be traveling to North Carolina later this year to evaluate a statewide leadership academy.
  • Attendees were able to earn two credit hours of continuing education with “Profitable Social Media,” presented by Mark Porter, CRS, GRI, e-Pro. Special thanks to the Ohio CRS Chapter for its co-sponsorship of the program.

While the bulk of our attention and effort was devoted to matters involving Association operations, public policy initiatives, professional development and a host of related issues, there was ample opportunity to mix a little pleasure into the proceedings as well.

As you can tell, the Association has hit the ground running and is poised to accomplish great things in 2015. OAR will continue to work hard to not only ensure that REALTORS are prepared to meet the challenges of today, but succeed tomorrow.

Mark your calendars to be a part of the Association’s next major event, the Spring Legislative Conference, April 20-22, in Columbus. This will feature key political figures from the Buckeye State and a reception with lawmakers at the Ohio State House.

Thank you for your past and continued support!