Get your Ohio real estate license

Take your online courses at the following community colleges

In Ohio pre-licensing courses must be taken at an Institution of Higher Education. There are numerous schools, universities and community colleges that offer pre-license education around the state.

How do I get my Ohio Real Estate license?

1. Complete Your Required Education

You must have a high school diploma or equivalent (if you were born after 1950) and successfully complete 120 hours of approved real estate education within a ten-year time frame immediately preceding your application. This education must be completed at an institution of higher education that awards a degree in at least a two-year program, education must consist of the following:
•    Real Estate Principles and Practices (40 hours)
•    Ohio Real Estate Law, including instruction in civil rights, housing discrimination and desegregation problems (40 hours)
•    Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
•    Real Estate Finance (20 hours)

2. Obtain a Sponsoring Broker

Before you submit an application to become a licensed real estate Salesperson, you must be sponsored by a Broker.

3. Submit Your Application

You must submit a completed Salesperson Examination Application, a $60 fee, and proof that you completed your education requirements to the Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing. (You may either submit a copy of your official transcripts or course completion certificates.) The Division will process your application and send your information to the testing vendor.

4. Schedule Your Test

After your application has been processed, you will receive a Candidate Information Bulletin with instructions for scheduling your test.

Ohio State Requirements

Salesperson Licensing

Educational Requirements to Obtain a Salesperson License:

  1. Be honest, truthful and of good reputation.
  2. Be at least 18 years old.
  3. Be sponsored by an Ohio Broker.
  4. Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude. Not have violated any civil rights laws regarding real estate within the past two years as determined by a court of law or violated any rules of the Ohio Division of Real Estate. In some circumstances, it is possible to have a conviction or violation disregarded, which would allow you to sit for the exam. The Division may only make a determination with respect to a conviction or violation if you file an application. For additional information on this process, contact the Division directly or review the additional information found on the Division’s website.
  5. Have a high school diploma or its equivalent as recognized by the Ohio Department of Education   if you were born after 1950.
  6. Complete the education requirements:•    Real Estate Principles and Practices (40 hours)
    •    Ohio Real Estate Law, including instruction in civil rights, housing discrimination and desegregation problems (40 hours)
    •    Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
    •    Real Estate Finance (20 hours)

    Please note: Any person who has not been licensed as a real estate salesperson or broker within a four-year period immediately preceding his/her current application for the salesperson’s exam must have completed the above instruction within a 10-year period immediately preceding the current salesperson application. This education must have been completed at an institution of higher education that awards a degree in at least a two-year program [i.e. an associate degree].

An applicant for an Ohio salesperson’s license should submit:

  1. A completed Salesperson Examination Application with $60.00 fee. (Note: If you answer “yes” to any of the Ethical Conduct questions, please submit a detailed explanation. Your application will be reviewed by the ODRE Legal staff.)
  2. Proof of completion of the Education Requirements (a copy of official transcripts or course completion certificates)Once the Division processes a complete application, the applicant’s information is sent to the testing vendor. The testing vendor will process the information and send a Candidate Information Bulletin with instructions on scheduling the exam.

The applicant must pass the State and National portions of the Ohio Real Estate Salesperson Exam in order for a license to be issued. Passing score: 70

For more information, contact the Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing at 614-466-4100.
(ODRE – Updated 06/2017)

Broker Licensing

Educational Requirements to Obtain a Broker’s License:
The applicant must hold an active salesperson license for two (2) of the last five (5) years and comply with the following requirements:

1.    If licensed prior to 1/01/1972, no further education is due
•    If licensed from 1/02/72 to 1/03/84, you must have taken the required 120 hours (courses #1 – 4 listed below)
•    If licensed on or after 1/03/84, you must have taken courses #1 – 8 listed below and possess a minimum of two years of post-secondary education (#9), or the equivalent hours of sixty (60) semester or ninety (90) quarter hours.

Education Requirements

1.    Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours)
2.    Ohio Real Estate Principles & Practices (40 hours)
3.    Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
4.    Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
5.    A Financial Management course
6.    A Human Resources or Personnel Management course
7.    An Applied Business Economics course
8.    A Business Law course
9.    A minimum of two years of post-secondary education, or equivalent hours of (60) sixty semester or (90) ninety quarter hours. Courses #5 – 8 may be included in your post-secondary education.

Experience Requirements – 20 transactions

The Division calculates the transactions to ensure the applicant meets a total of twenty by using the following formulas:

  1. Listing agent in the sale of property owned by another = ½ transaction

•    Selling agent in the sale of property owned by another = ½ transaction
•    Listing agent in the lease of commercial or industrial real estate owned by another for a term of at least one year = ½ transaction
•    Procuring agent in the lease of commercial or industrial real estate owned by another for a term of at least one year = ½ transaction
•    Listing and /or procuring agent in the lease of four residential real estate properties owned by another for a term of at least one-year = ¼ transaction

An applicant for an Ohio broker’s license should submit:

  1.   A Broker Examination Application with fee.
  2.  Proof of completion of all Education Requirements (A copy of official transcripts or course completion certificates)

Once the Division processes a complete application, the applicant’s information is sent to the testing vendor. The testing vendor will process the information and send a Candidate Information Bulletin with instructions on scheduling the exam.

The applicant must pass the State and National portions of the Ohio Real Estate Broker exam in order for a license to be issued. Passing score: 75
(ODRE-Updated 06/2013)

Salesperson Post Licensing Education

Not earlier than the date of issue of a real estate salesperson’s license to a licensee, but not later than twelve months after the date of issue of a real estate salesperson license to a licensee, the licensee shall submit proof satisfactory to the superintendent, on forms made available by the superintendent, of the completion of 20 hours of classroom instruction that shall be completed in schools, seminars, and educational institutions approved by the commission.

The 20 hour course will be required of salespersons who are issued a license on or after the April 6, 2017 effective date of the bill. Those agents who were issued a license before that date will only be required to take the existing ten hour course.

Salesperson Continuing Education

Educational Requirements to renew a Salesperson License:
The state of Ohio requires 30 hours of continuing education to be completed every three years by the licensee’s birthday. The first continuing education due date for a new licensee is three years after the licensee’s first birthday following licensure. The 30 hours must include 9 hours in 3 separate mandatory core courses.

Broker Post Licensing Education

No later than twelve months after the date of issue of a real estate broker’s license to a licensee, the licensee shall submit proof satisfactory to the superintendent, on forms made available by the superintendent, of the completion of ten hours of classroom instruction in real estate brokerage at an institution of higher education or any other institution that is approved by the commission.

Broker Continuing Education

Educational Requirements to renew a Broker License:
The state of Ohio requires 30 hours of continuing education to be completed every three years by the licensee’s birthday. The first continuing education due date for a new licensee is three years after the licensee’s first birthday following licensure. The 30 hours must include 12 hours in 4 separate mandatory core courses.

New Mandatory Management C.E. Course

Included in the report of the Ohio Licensing Structure Task Force was a finding that additional education is necessary for those persons involved in the operation and management of a brokerage to assure that they are knowledgeable about their license law obligations as well as other issues involved in running a successful real estate business. To accomplish this, HB 532 requires a separate three hour continuing education class on these topics. This course is required to be taken by the following licensees, including those over 70 years of age:

•    Principal brokers
•    Associate brokers
•    Brokers on deposit
•    Management level licensees, whether licensed as a broker or salesperson

Even though associate brokers and brokers on deposit aren’t involved in the management of a brokerage, they are included in this requirement because of their ability to change their status to that of a principal broker or management level licensee.

It should also be noted that this three hour course will be included in a licensee’s 30 hour c.e. requirement – not in addition. According to the Division, this course will be required for those impacted licensees whose continuing education cycle begins after the April 6, 2017 effective date of the bill. For example, if a broker’s continuing education is due on May 1, 2017 this 3 hour management course will not be required on that date; instead it will first be required on May 17, 2020.

For more information, contact the Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing at 614-466-4100.  All information provided is subject to change.  If you have specific questions, please visit the ODREs website.